This is the last assignment of my CIP blog.
I personally think that the syllabus covered is appropriate and this is what i expected in the module. Things about computers, the hardwares, softwares and those privacy and security measurements. These topics are essential and relevant in terms of this module. Despite of this, however, i do not understand why we were made to study this module which is not really associated with Business Studies. My friends were saying like,"Come on. I am a Business Student and why do we have to study this module." Maybe this module is included for their reasons. Directly or in directly it will help and prove essential and relevant to our Business Studies course. For example, the learning of the Microsoft Word function really helps in our report writing and a good report writing has to have these features. Thus, this proves us wrong that CIP is redundant.
I also agree that the workshops on MS Word, Powerpoint and Macromedia Dreamweaver, Flash are interesting and useful. These are appropriate in developing my IT hands-on skills as we were not taught beforehand and it was like we were to explore the features of those softwares ourselves. By hook or by crook we will eventually discover some unique or interesting features in using these softwares and this will help us greatly.
As for the PBL problems, i think that they are authentic enough for me to learn better as they make us think of real-life examples and to make us visualize that we are really working for the company. No doubt, it provides an opportunity for me to work effectively in teams as well as develop problem solving skills. As the PBL required us to do a great deal of research and brainstorming, we need to coordinate the team in order not to have any conflicts might any occur. Thus it requires alot of giving in and compromising skills. As i have said, PBL required us to be independent in solving the question thus our problem solving skills had been greatly developed.
I think that the lecturers and tutors are quite helpful in my learning. This is so as they are very keen to clear our doubts. The class size of 40 is a good size for effective learning. It is neither too big nor too small and we can get to befriend more people from other class and from there, we can learn from each other. This is good and effective.
If there is 1 thing that i can change in CIP, maybe i would suggest that no lecture will be held but the lecture notes will still be posted in mel. This is because my friends and i agree that what is taught in the lecture is what it is in the textbook. In addition, the textbook is more detailed than the notes, so, maybe, we can conduct self-reading lesson of the textbook in the lecture theatre and there will be a lecturer together with us in the theatre to help us when we face doubts. I think that this is not bad an idea.
If there is at least 1 useful thing that i appreciate in CIP, it would be the workshop lessons. This is so as this is the time when we can do our workshop assignments and we can ask the tutor for help on the spot. Through this we can learn better about the various useful features of the softwares. Also, the PBLs. It definitely improves our problem solving skills and made us more independent to search for answers ourselves. It also improve on the team spirit in completing the problem.
Finally, the semester is soon drawing to a full stop and so does the Computing and Information Processing (CIP) module. Hope i can score well in this module and i am sure i will. =D
*MaBia* [10:03 AM]
had our group's PBL review today. We reached earlier as we met earlier. We do not want to be late anymore. So, we reached earlier before our tutor did. So we waited for him in the room. Then, he came and started giving us feedbacks and shooting us many questions about biometrics, network and stuffs. Cool. Then we have to answer him one by one. He then told us our grades which is an A!! Same grade as the previous PBL1. Good effort, good research, good presentation. So where does the "D" lies? Maybe it's because we were late for the presentation and we did not manage to finish the presentation. Okay. This i admit defeat. A is just good enough. So he continued to proceed on to telling us that he wants to groom as many ADs as he can in our class. 1 AD per group. Or rather, all ADs in the group. That was kind of interesting and this motivates us to even strive harder to prepare for our CIP examination. Hmmm. Hope i can manage between 4 modules in this just short short short not even 1 week of study break although i did study earlier. BUT the examination timetable is just TOTALLY i don't know what to say.
*MaBia* [8:34 PM]
haix... 2dae's presentation was like OH MY GOD!!! okie nevermind.. 2dae had CIP revision lecture.. hmmm... realised that there's quite a lot to cover for CIP examination. hmmm... okie.. back to our PBL2 presentaion... haix.. realli feel very discouraged.. we were the first group.. and i think there's some misunderstanding about the time so we were so-called considered late and things kept cropping up here and there.. so we had little time for our presentation.. As i was the last speaker, i was kena stopped halfway cause we have already exceeded our time limit.. sad sia.. Dunno whether the presentation grade is it individual or group de.. If individual one i think i am so gonna be dead as i was the last and i was stopped.. *sob* Hmmm.. Haix.. What's over is over... So let it be and get over with it.. Dun think too much about it as it won't help.. Am i not right? yeah...
*MaBia* [11:47 PM]
Yesterday, i went to the school library to check out on the books on the problems in the PBL2. Well, i really really feel so awkward in the computer segment because i am afraid that people might think that i am student from other countries and trying to look for computer books because i do not know how to operate a computer. This is so as you do not normally see people at the section ya? So it is quite embarrassing for me or perhaps it is just my over self-conscious. HaHa. Then after grabbing a thick thick stack of books, i went to find some cosy place to read on them and to eliminate those which are irrelevant. Haha. I think the place is SO cosy that i fell asleep! AH!!! Did not even know if i did anything obscene or even drooled on the books!! So embarrassing!!! HaHa. So i woke myself up and continue to read on and finally selected 3 books which are considered relevant. And off to the machine and i borrowed them back. AND, i took the bus home and there is no place to sit. Thus, i have to stand with the 3 thick books on my hands and plus my shoe bag, just like a typical aunty who just came to city from her hometown. WaHaHaHA!!! =D
Then today, New Year's Eve, i completed reading or should i say, went through all pages of the books and completed noting and copying the information found in the books on to Microsoft Word. Hmmm.. Tough process indeed but nevermind, it is all worth it! =D
Happy New Year in advance!!! =D
*MaBia* [9:41 PM]
*MaBia* [8:27 AM]
hmmm.. it's week 12 alreadi.. haix.. time passes so fast.. my group n i has alreadi started on our PBL 2.. hmmm.. the PBL 2 this time round i tink it's kinda rather interesting.. hah.. realli.. much better than PBL 1 where it is more boring as compared to PBL 2.. hmmm.. had 2 meetings alreadi since 2dae.. we discussed and listed down the possible reasons that might led to the problems which occurred.. this led us to a brainstorming session where all sorts of ideas are given in order not to miss out anyone of it.. when in doubt, we oso seeked help from the helpdesk and the internet and the library books.. hmmm.. the internet is quite a useful resource in solving our PBL 2.. hah.. den we oso proceeded on doin our PBL 1 proposal too.. i tink dat's quite easy.. hmmm.. or mayb not.. hah.. may our group do well for our PBL 2!!! yeah!! WE CAN DO IT!!! =D
oh.. dis week is CIP e-learning.. so no lecture n no tutorial... wahahaha... despite this, dere's still CIP e-learning assignment.. so it does not make a difference tho just dat we can haf our tutorial n lecture at our own pace.. hah.. so dat's about it..
*MaBia* [8:04 PM]
hmmm.. 2dae is the dae before the official deadline of the submission of our Dreamweaver assignment.. realli had a hard time weaving dreams diz few weeks.. i tink other people oso.. it's quite time-consuming coz we hafta find suitable backgrounds for our site and diz alone took alot of my time.. den alot of technical problems cropped up along the way like the inability to play the music or moving the table.. which makes mi quite discouraged and demoralised.. but however, wif the help of my frenz, we are able to complete it and submit on time.. thanx a trillion guys for helpin mi!! =D 2dae, i touched up somethin like addin another more flash into my movie site and checked for any errors in my writings and FINALLI, everythin is completed!! hah! wat a sense of satisfaction! hehe.. realli realli hope i didn't leave out anithin.. hmmm.. throughout the whole assignment, i learnt alot more bout the creation of a website and the usage of the Dreamweaver and Flash software.. =D
*MaBia* [11:25 PM]
*MaBia
*23o41988
*NgEe aNn pOly
*Quackiez@hotmail.com
.:. LoVeS .:.
*SuN
*NaTuRe
*sPoRtS
*GuitaR
*FrEnZ
*EvErYtHiN
.:. HaTeS .:.
*nOtHiN
.:. MeMoRy LaNe .:.
*JiEyInG
*CaSiLdA
*HuIwEn
*Qi YaNg
*CaRoLyN
*AaRoN
*friend
*friend
*friend
*friend
*friend
*friend
=WeLcOmE=
tO mY
CIP bLoGGiE
::EnJoY uR sTaY::